IETE elects Sunil, Ex Additional DG - Prasar Bharati, as President
Custom Image
Go Back
1 month ago 05:38:47pm Television

IETE elects Sunil, Ex Additional DG – Prasar Bharati, as President

New Delhi,17-June-2024, By IBW Team


The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) has announced the election of Sunil, former Additional Director General of Prasar Bharati, as its new President for 2024-25.

The election results were declared on June 16, 2024. Sunil, who has previously served as a member of the IETE Governing Council, brings a wealth of experience and leadership to his new role.

According to a press release, Sunil’s illustrious career in broadcasting spans 35 years, during which he has held various pivotal roles, including heading the Technology, Global Outreach, Marketing, Distribution, Central Archives, and External Services Division of All India Radio and Doordarshan.

He is credited with planning and implementing India’s first Direct-to-Home (DTH) platform and the successful integration of private broadcasters through auctions, achieving a record reach of 40 million homes with DD Freedish signals. His contributions have significantly elevated the broadcasting landscape in India and globally.

Sunil has received numerous prestigious awards, including the IETE S N Mitra Memorial Award in 2016 for his outstanding contributions to Radio Broadcast science and technology.

He was also honored with the Broadcast Excellence Award in 2018 by the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU), the world’s largest broadcasting union. His leadership roles include serving as the Vice President of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union, President of the Broadcast Engineering Society of India (BES), Vice Chairman of ABU Malaysia’s Technical Bureau, and a jury member for international organizations such as The Association of International Broadcasters (AIB) in the UK and ABU in Malaysia.

IETE, inaugurated by Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan in 1953, has been dedicated to serving the nation through its contributions to electronics and telecommunication engineering.

Recognized as a Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) by the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, IETE is also designated as an Educational Institution of National Eminence. With a membership base of over 125,000 individuals across India and abroad, IETE fosters a global community dedicated to innovation and progress.

The Institution is governed by its elected Governing Council, led by the President, and managed through various committees and boards focused on specific areas of knowledge and research. IETE operates 63 centers throughout India, with additional centers in Kathmandu, Nepal, and Perth, Australia. These centers are managed by elected Executive Committees headed by Chairpersons.

As Sunil takes on his new role as President, he is committed to furthering the objectives of IETE, driving innovation, and enhancing the Institution’s impact in the field of electronics and telecommunication engineering. His extensive experience and proven leadership will be invaluable in guiding IETE toward new heights of achievement and recognition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Our Events

  • img
    SatCab Symposium

    SatCab symposium organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. It's a well-informed event where we have a panel discussion on the current affairs and future forecasting on our industry.

  • img
    Ratna Awards

    BCS Ratna Award organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. In this award function, a community of our industry is honored by receiving the award for the contribution of their work.

  • img
    Chetna Yatra

    Chetna Yatra organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. Held by Dr. AK Rastogi, Chairman of Aavishkar Media Group. Pilgrimage India in his car for connecting the people of our industry.

  • img
    Imaan India Sammaan

    Imaan India Samman is an event mobilized by Aavishkar Media Group, which was launched in 2012. Giving the award to the NGOs for giving their contribution to society.

Youtube Videos