‘Laapataa Ladies', 'Rocky Aur Rani…’ lead IFFM nominations
Custom Image
Go Back
2 weeks ago 06:00:24am Television

‘Laapataa Ladies’, ‘Rocky Aur Rani…’ lead IFFM nominations

New Delhi, 11-July-2024, By IBW Team

‘Laapataa Ladies', 'Rocky Aur Rani…’ lead IFFM nominations

The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) has announced its nominations for the 2024 awards, with Kiran Rao’s ‘Laapataa Ladies’ and Karan Johar’s ‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’ leading the pack. Vidhu Vinod Chopra’s ‘12th Fail’ and Jeo Baby’s ‘Kaathal – The Core’ also garnered multiple nominations, PTI reported.

The 15th edition of IFFM will run from August 15 to 25, 2024, with the winners announced at the gala night on September 16 at the Palais Theatre in Melbourne.

The winners will be announced on September 16 at the annual gala night, set to be hosted at the Palais Theatre in Melbourne.

Besides ‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’ and ‘12th Fail’, nominees in the best film category are ‘Amar Singh Chamkila’, ‘Chandu Champion’, ‘Dunki’, ‘Jawan’, ‘Maharaja’, and ‘Premalu’.

The best film – critics’ choice segment is populated by titles such as ‘Laapataa Ladies’, ‘Kaathal – The Core’, ‘Dear Jassi’, ‘Girls Will Be Girls’, ‘Kabuliwala’, ‘Rapture’, ‘Sapta Sagaradaache Ello’, and ‘Thadavu’.

In the best actor category, Shah Rukh Khan has secured a double nomination for ‘Dunki’ and ‘Jawan’. Diljit Dosanjh (‘Amar Singh Chamkila’), Fahadh Faasil (‘Aavesham’), Kartik Aaryan (‘Chandu Champion’), Mammootty (‘Kaathal – The Core’), Mithun Chakraborty (‘Kabuliwala’), Ranveer Singh (‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’), Sparsh Shrivastava (‘Laapataa Ladies’), Vicky Kaushal (‘Sam Bahadur’), and Vikrant Massey (‘12th Fail’) are also vying for the top prize.

Debutantes Nitanshi Goel and Pratibha Ranta of ‘Laapataa Ladies’ and Alizeh Agnihotri (‘Farrey’) have earned a nomination in the best actress category, alongside Alia Bhatt (‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’), Beena R Chandran (‘Thadavu’), Jyothika (‘Kaathal – The Core’), Parvathy Thiruvothu (‘Ullozhukku’), Preeti Panigrahi (‘Girls will be Girls’), Sanya Malhotra (‘Mrs’), and Swathi Reddy (‘Month of Madhu’).

The best director race has contenders in ‘Amar Singh Chamkila’ director Imtiaz Ali, ‘Chandu Champion’ director Kabir Khan, ‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’ director Karan Johar, ‘Maharaja’director Nithilan Saminathan, ‘Bramayugam’ director Rahul Sadasivan, ‘Dunki’director Rajkumar Hirani, and ‘12th Fail’ director Vidhu Vinod Chopra.

Nominees in the best director – critics choice category are Christo Tomy (‘Ullozhukku’), Diwa Shah (‘Bahadur – The Brave’), Dominic Sangma (‘Rimdogittanga’), Hemanth Rao (‘Sapta Sagaradaache Ello – Side A’), Kiran Rao (‘Laapataa Ladies’), Saurav Rai (‘Guras’), Shuchi Talati (‘Girls will be Girls’) and Sumanth Bhat (‘Mithya’). Web series ‘Made in Heaven 2’‘Panchayat’ season 3, ‘Kohrra’, and ‘Poacher’ lead the nominations list in the OTT segment.

Besides these four web series, ‘Dhootha’, ‘Heeramandi’, and ‘The Railway Men’ are also part of the best OTT show nominations list. Arjun Mathur (‘Made in Heaven 2’), Babil Khan (‘The Railway Men’), Gulshan Devaiah (‘Guns & Gulaabs’), Jitendra Kumar (‘Panchayat S3’), Naveen Chandra (‘Inspector Rishi’), R. Madhavan (‘The Railway Men’), Roshan Mathew (‘Poacher’) and Suvinder Vicky (‘Kohrra’) will compete for the best actor OTT trophy.

In the best actress OTT segment, the contenders are Harleen Sethi for ‘Kohrra’, Karishma Tanna for ‘Scoop’, Neena Gupta for ‘Panchayat Season 3’, Nimisha Sajayan for ‘Poacher’, Parvathy Thiruvothu for ‘Dhootha’, Shriya Pilgaonkar for ‘The Broken News 2’, and Sobhita Dhulipala for ‘Made in Heaven 2’.

The IFFM is presented by the Victorian government, celebrating the best of Indian cinema and fostering cross-cultural dialogue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Our Events

  • img
    SatCab Symposium

    SatCab symposium organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. It's a well-informed event where we have a panel discussion on the current affairs and future forecasting on our industry.

  • img
    Ratna Awards

    BCS Ratna Award organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. In this award function, a community of our industry is honored by receiving the award for the contribution of their work.

  • img
    Chetna Yatra

    Chetna Yatra organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. Held by Dr. AK Rastogi, Chairman of Aavishkar Media Group. Pilgrimage India in his car for connecting the people of our industry.

  • img
    Imaan India Sammaan

    Imaan India Samman is an event mobilized by Aavishkar Media Group, which was launched in 2012. Giving the award to the NGOs for giving their contribution to society.

Youtube Videos