Abhay Ojha quits ZMCL
Custom Image
Go Back
1 month ago 06:00:56am Television

Abhay Ojha quits ZMCL

New Delhi, 06-May-2024, By IBW Team


Dr. Idris Loya, a tech and Essel Group veteran, has taken interim charge as chief executive of Zee Media Corporation Ltd (ZMCL), the company that operates news channels under the Zee brand.

ZMCL CEO Abhay Ojha has exited the company, sending in his resignation via a mail.

Indianbroadcastingworld.com couldn’t confirm it independently, but industry sources hinted that Essel Group and Zee’s founder Subhash Chandra, who had distanced himself from day-to-day company activities for over 18 months, was back to actively looking into the affairs of Essel Group companies, including Zee Entertainment and ZMCL, and was not happy with certain decisions taken at the news company.

ZMCL had promoted Ojha to CEO’s post early 2023 after appointing him as the Chief Business Officer in November 2022. The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting had approved Ojha’s appointment as CEO in May 2023.

Ojha had previously worked in several leading companies in leadership positions, including in now-shuttered shopping channel ShopCJ, Star TV, IndusInd Media, Turner International India and Hindustan Unilever.

The ZMCL universe comprises 14 news channels and 30 digital platforms in 10 languages. The website said monthly unique visitors number 345+ million, while news channels viewership base is 153+ million.

ZMCL was kept outside the ambit of the now-aborted merger talks between Zee Entertainment and Sony Group’s Indian subsidiary Sony Pictures Network India and it could turn out to be an important clog in the turnaround story of Zee Entertainment being now scripted by father-son duo of Chandra and Punit Goenka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Our Events

  • img
    SatCab Symposium

    SatCab symposium organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. It's a well-informed event where we have a panel discussion on the current affairs and future forecasting on our industry.

  • img
    Ratna Awards

    BCS Ratna Award organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. In this award function, a community of our industry is honored by receiving the award for the contribution of their work.

  • img
    Chetna Yatra

    Chetna Yatra organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. Held by Dr. AK Rastogi, Chairman of Aavishkar Media Group. Pilgrimage India in his car for connecting the people of our industry.

  • img
    Imaan India Sammaan

    Imaan India Samman is an event mobilized by Aavishkar Media Group, which was launched in 2012. Giving the award to the NGOs for giving their contribution to society.

Youtube Videos