Dish TV chairman Jawahar Goel resigns from board
Go Back
--> 6 months ago 06:00:44am Television

Dish TV chairman Jawahar Goel resigns from board

New Delhi, 20-September-2022, By IBW Team

Dish TV chairman Jawahar Goel resigns from board

Direct-to-Home operator Dish TV on Monday said its chairman Jawahar Lal Goel has resigned from the board of the company.

“Jawahar Lal Goel, Director…. has tendered his resignation from the company’s board of directors and committee/s thereof with effect from the close of business hours of September 19, 2022,” Dish TV informed in a regulatory filing.

Consequently, he shall cease to be the chairman of the board, it added.

The company’s largest shareholder Yes Bank Ltd (YBL) and the promoter family led by its chairman Jawahar Lal Goel were engaged in a legal battle over board representation in Dish TV.

YBL, having over 24 percent share, was pushing for reconstitution of the Dish TV board and removal of Goel along with some other persons.

In its AGM, held on December 30, 2021, Dish TV shareholders rejected all three proposals, including the adoption of financial statements and the reappointment of Ashok Mathai Kurien as director.

Dish TV had not declared the outcome of voting at its 33rd AGM due to the ongoing litigations. It was later directed to disclose the results by the capital markets regulator Sebi.

Earlier in June, the shareholders in an extraordinary general meeting had rejected the proposal for reappointment of Goel as managing director and Anil Kumar Dua as a whole-time director of the company, following which both had to vacate their offices.

On August 30, Dish TV, in a regulatory filing, said its chairman Jawahar Lal Goel will vacate his position at the company’s upcoming AGM on September 26, 2022.

Goel has not re-applied for continuation as chairman, it had said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts

Our Events

  • img
    SatCab Symposium

    SatCab symposium organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. It's a well-informed event where we have a panel discussion on the current affairs and future forecasting on our industry.

  • img
    Ratna Awards

    BCS Ratna Award organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. In this award function, a community of our industry is honored by receiving the award for the contribution of their work.

  • img
    Chetna Yatra

    Chetna Yatra organized by Aavishkar Media Group is an annual event. Held by Dr. AK Rastogi, Chairman of Aavishkar Media Group. Pilgrimage India in his car for connecting the people of our industry.

  • img
    Imaan India Sammaan

    Imaan India Samman is an event mobilized by Aavishkar Media Group, which was launched in 2012. Giving the award to the NGOs for giving their contribution to society.

Youtube Videos